Thoughts on Buddy the Elf, dishes, Real Housewives of Atlanta, and my husband.

I played hookey from the last hour of church yesterday.  My sciatic nerve is mad at the baby for camping out on it, so I walk like a pirate with a wooden leg and those metal church chairs don’t exactly help.  Gavin brought me home and then cleaned the entire house.  Yeah, I know I’m lucky.  I know he’s great.  Please excuse me while I expand on this a little…

Before bed last night, we watched the movie “Elf” to try to squeeze one last bit of Christmas into the weekend.  There’s a part in the movie where Buddy the Elf (Will Ferrell) goes on a date with Jovie (Zooey Deschanel).  They do very mundane things like buying a “crappy cup of coffee”, skipping across crosswalks, and spinning around in those revolving doors at the entrance of hotels.  Although these things seem pretty ordinary, Buddy is so excited to do them that it makes it fun for Jovie.  He does not stop smiling and laughing through the entire scene.  I jokingly made the remark that being married to Gavin was like being married to Buddy the Elf, and Gav rolled his eyes…but the more I think about it today, the more I realize it’s true.  If you know anything about the movie and you know anything about Gavin, you’re probably nodding your head.  He is so enthusiastic about everything that happens, I can’t help but have a good time no matter what we are doing.  

My case:  While he was washing dishes yesterday (dishes!!) he started singing.  I couldn’t tell what it was at first, but when I concentrated I realized it was “The Ring Didn’t Mean a Thing”.  If you haven’t heard of it, that’s because you’re boring, and probably a lot classier than  me.  Sometimes…I watch Real Housewives of Atlanta.  I know, I know, it’s gross.  I’m gross.  Whatever, it’s out there now and I’m over it.  I love the hair, I love the accents, and I love the drama.  One of the ladies on the show thinks she’s a singer and recorded this awful song that she sings on the show all the time, and that’s what Gav was singing…because MY SWEET HUSBAND who I GUARANTEE YOU would rather be watching the Chargers or Lakers game will sit and watch it with me after a 10 or 12 hour day at work so I don’t have a crazy pregnant lady meltdown.  So there I was yesterday, propped up on the couch surrounded all the pillows he had fluffed for me, praying my baked potato feet would stop swelling, feeling bad for myself, and Gav was scrubbing the dirty pots and pans, singing away.  HOW DO YOU GET THAT HAPPY????  Sure, he’s super good looking, can grow a mean mustache without even trying, and has rad dance moves…but this natural enthusiasm and happiness is why I married him.  He wakes up smiling, tickles and kisses my grumpy attitude away until I’m smiling, smiles at work all day long, comes home and smiles some more, and then goes to sleep smiling.  I’m telling you, he is Buddy the Elf.  Smiling is his favorite.

My point:  Driving home from Gavin’s work this morning, the baby woke up and started her usual morning jazzercise routine in my tummy.  Most mornings I groan and try to move into a position where my ribs are spared her extreme high kicks, but today I tried to stay still and just feel her.  It was so overwhelmingly reassuring to know that this sweet little girl is just as rambunctious as her daddy.  She is Gavin’s daughter, and I’m glad for that.  I can already tell she is just like him.  She can’t sit still, and that makes me love her more and more everyday.  I love my tiny family, and I feel so blessed to be surrounded by so much enthusiasm and joy.  

Sure, Gavin’s not perfect.  Maybe he talks through every movie we go see, but what he says is always funny and makes me laugh super hard.  And maybe he can’t sit still and is basically vibrating with energy all the time.  But you know what?  That makes him a hard worker AND he still has the energy to take me out on a date or sit and talk to me after working all day.  If I tell a joke, he will laugh the loudest and hardest and make me feel like Seinfeld.  If I say something and no one else pays attention or hears me, he loudly proclaims that I am super smart and that no one else in the universe would have thought to say that.  He makes me feel like I’m a lot cooler than I really am, and smothers me with attention.  When I was first pregnant and really sick all the time, he would come in the bathroom and rub my back and hold my hair and then carry me back to bed.  Even now, when I get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night (which happens a lot when you’re 9 months pregnant) he rolls over and kisses me on the cheek (or the arm, or the nose or the ear…his aim is a little off at 12 am..and 2 am, and 3 am, and 4 am, and 5…).

Probably no one will read this all the way through because it’s super mushy and gross, but the bottom line here is that I know I got lucky.  I am married to my very best friend.  We have our own language, love each others families, and can spend every waking moment together without getting annoyed.  So thanks for the belly rubs every night, hun.  And the trips to 7-11 across town for juice.  And the 3,000 verses of “Baby Beluga” to get the Sea Monkey to stop kicking and let me sleep.  And the remote control.  And the fluffiest pillow on the bed.  And for being Buddy the Elf.  You can have the whole box of Candy Cane Joe Joes- you just keep doing what you’re doing.

3 Comments

Filed under Baby, Holidays, Husband, Love, Marriage, Pregnancy, Uncategorized, Wifey

3 responses to “Thoughts on Buddy the Elf, dishes, Real Housewives of Atlanta, and my husband.

  1. Awwwww. so mushy. so sweet. love your little happy family.

  2. oh man, i love that guy. I met him one time and then i read this and i know i love him.

    But hes not the only person who thinks youre as funny as Seinfeld.

  3. I’m one of the few who read this all the way through 🙂 I cried. Seriously. I have tears rolling down my face right now. Gavin’s acts of love toward you made me cry… weird, I know. You’re so lucky to have someone as unforgettable as Gavin.

Leave a Reply

